Når du klikker 'Accepter', giver du samtykke til brugen af cookies. Nogle cookies bruges til statistik og til at forbedre brugeroplevelsen på sitet, mens andre cookies sættes af tredjepartstjenester til f.eks. målrettet annoncering.

Cookiepolitik

Dave goulson Bøger

(50)

Owls of the Eastern Ice

Owls of the Eastern Ice

'Remarkable. If only every endangered species had a guardian angel as impassioned, courageous and pragmatic as Jonathan Slaght' Isabella Tree, author of Wilding'Gripping' Dave Goulson, author of A Sting in the TalePrimorye, a remote forested region near to where Russia, China and North Korea meet in a tangle of barbed wire, is the only place where brown bears, tigers and leopards co-exist. It is also home to one of nature's rarest birds, the Blakiston's fish owl. A chance encounter with this huge, strange bird was to change wildlife researcher Jonathan C. Slaght's life beyond measure.This is the story of Slaght's quest to safeguard the elusive owl from extinction. During months-long journeys covering thousands of miles, he has pursued it through its forbidding territory. He has spent time with the Russians who struggle on in the harsh conditions of the taiga forest. And he has observed how Russia's logging interests and evolving fortunes present new threats to the owl's survival. Preserving its habitats will secure the forest for future generations, both animal and human - but can this battle be won? Exhilarating and clear-sighted, Owls of the Eastern Ice is an impassioned reflection on our relationship with the natural world and on what it means to devote one's career to a single pursuit.'Slaght makes the people, wildlife and landscape of the Russian Far East come alive. I haven't enjoyed a book on remote Russia as much as this since Ian Frazier's Travels in Siberia' Sophy Roberts, author of The Lost Pianos of Siberia'True epic. Powerful, passionate' Charles Foster, author of Being a Beast
239 kr.inkl. fragt
165 kr.
Waterstones Logo
The End of the Ocean

The End of the Ocean

From the author of the number one international bestseller The History of Bees, a captivating new novel about the threat of a worldwide water shortage as seen through the eyes of a father and daughter. 'I'm including this because the subject is climate change, which almost no one writes novels about. The story of a present-day Norwegian eco-campaigner alternates with that of a French family in the overheated future. They are in a camp for refugees from eco-disaster - but it's not all doom and gloom. They find friendship, love and an unexpected gift from the past.'Wendy Holden, Daily Mail In 2019, seventy-year-old Signe sets out on a hazardous voyage to cross an entire ocean in only a sailboat. She is haunted by the loss of the love of her life, and is driven by a singular and all-consuming mission to make it back to him. In 2041, David flees with his young daughter, Lou, from a war-torn Southern Europe plagued by drought. They have been separated from their rest of their family and are on a desperate search to reunite with them once again, when they find Signe's abandoned sailboat in a parched French garden, miles away from the nearest shore. As David and Lou discover personal effects from Signe's travels, their journey of survival and hope weaves together with Signe's, forming a heartbreaking, inspiring story about the power of nature and the human spirit in this second novel from the author of the "spectacular and deeply moving" (New York Times bestselling author Lisa See) The History of Bees. Praise for The History of Bees: 'Fans of Cloud Atlas and Never Let Me Go will love The History of Bees' Good Housekeeping 'Dystopian and electric, this book is set to blow minds everywhere' Stylist 'Haunting and poignant ... an important and wonderful book' Dave Goulson, bestselling author of Bee Quest 'Spectacular and deeply moving. Lunde has elegantly woven together a tale of science and science fiction, dystopia and hope, and the trials of the individual and the streng...
149 kr.inkl. fragt
74 kr.
Waterstones Logo
Summen over engen

Summen over engen

Af Dave Goulson Som fortsættelse på bestselleren om humlebier ''Humlen ved det hele'' følger her Goulsons beretning om dage og måneder tilbragt i Frankrig med at gøre en ruin beboelig for sig selv og sin familie. Og med at etablere en stor og frodig eng, hvor blomster, insekter og sommerfulge vil trives – og lade sig studere.

Fragt ukendt

150 kr.

Naturhistorisk Museum Aarhus

Tilmeld dig vores nyhedsbrev

Aktuelle tilbud og spændende indhold hver uge. Læs om produktnyheder, trends, guides og produkttest, som hjælper dig med at gøre bedre køb!

Ja tak, jeg vil gerne modtage nyheder og tilbud inden for PriceRunners produktsortiment samt konkurrencer og tips via e-mail.

Jeg kan til enhver tid trække mit samtykke tilbage. Læs mere i vores Privatlivspolitik.