Vi bruger cookies på PriceRunner

Vi bruger cookies for at tilpasse indhold og annoncer til dig og for at analysere vores trafik. Vi deler oplysninger om din brug af tjenesten med vores partnere inden for sociale medier, annonceringspartnere og analysepartnere. Vores partnere kan kombinere disse data med oplysninger, som du har delt med dem.

Cookiepolitik·

The new penguin russian

16 produkter

Sorter efter popularitet
The Penguin History of Modern Russia

The Penguin History of Modern Russia

Robert Service's The Penguin History of Modern Russia: From Tsarism to the Twenty-first Century provides a superb panorama of Russia in the modern age. Russia's recent past has encompassed revolution, civil war, mass terror and two world wars, and the country is still undergoing huge change. In his acclaimed history, now revised and updated with a new introduction and final chapter, Robert Service explores the complex, changing interaction between rulers and ruled from Tsar Nicholas II, through the Russian Revolutions of 1905 and 1917; from Lenin and Stalin through to Gorbachev, Yeltsin, Putin and beyond. This new edition also discusses Russia's unresolved economic and social difficulties and its determination to regain its leading role on the world stage and explains how, despite the recent years of de-communization, the seven decades of communist rule which penetrated every aspect of life still continue to influence Russia today. 'Always well-informed and balanced in his judgements, clear and concise in his analysis ... Service is extremely good on Soviet politics' Orlando Figes, Sunday Telegraph 'A fine book ... it is a dizzying tale and Service tells it well; he has none of the ideological baggage that has so often bedevilled Western histories of Russia' Brian Moynahan, Sunday Times Robert Service is a Fellow of the British Academy and of St Antony's College, Oxford. He has written several books, including the highly acclaimed Lenin: A Biography, Russia: Experiment with a People, Stalin: A Biography and Comrades: A History of World Communism, as well as many other books on Russia's past and present. His most recent book, Trotsky, has been shortlisted for the Duff Cooper Prize.
230 kr.inkl. fragt
200 kr.
Saxo DK Logo
The Penguin History of Modern Russia

The Penguin History of Modern Russia

Robert Service's The Penguin History of Modern Russia: From Tsarism to the Twenty-first Century provides a superb panorama of Russia in the modern age. Russia's recent past has encompassed revolution, civil war, mass terror and two world wars, and the country is still undergoing huge change. In his acclaimed history, now revised and updated with a new introduction and final chapter, Robert Service explores the complex, changing interaction between rulers and ruled from Tsar Nicholas II, through the Russian Revolutions of 1905 and 1917; from Lenin and Stalin through to Gorbachev, Yeltsin, Putin and beyond. This new edition also discusses Russia's unresolved economic and social difficulties and its determination to regain its leading role on the world stage and explains how, despite the recent years of de-communization, the seven decades of communist rule which penetrated every aspect of life still continue to influence Russia today. 'Always well-informed and balanced in his judgements, clear and concise in his analysis ... Service is extremely good on Soviet politics' Orlando Figes, Sunday Telegraph 'A fine book ... it is a dizzying tale and Service tells it well; he has none of the ideological baggage that has so often bedevilled Western histories of Russia' Brian Moynahan, Sunday Times Robert Service is a Fellow of the British Academy and of St Antony's College, Oxford. He has written several books, including the highly acclaimed Lenin: A Biography, Russia: Experiment with a People, Stalin: A Biography and Comrades: A History of World Communism, as well as many other books on Russia's past and present. His most recent book, Trotsky, has been shortlisted for the Duff Cooper Prize.
216 kr.inkl. fragt
141 kr.
Waterstones Logo
A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles

A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles

A Gentleman in Moscow : Paperback : Penguin Books : 9780143110439 : 0143110438 : 24 Sep 2019 : "From the New York Times bestselling author of Rules of Civility--a transporting novel about a man who is ordered to spend the rest of his life inside a luxury hotel With his breakout debut novel, Rules of Civility, Amor Towles established himself as a master of absorbing, sophisticated fiction, bringing late 1930s Manhattan to life with splendid atmosphere and a flawless command of style. Readers and critics were enchanted; as NPR commented, "Towles writes with grace and verve about the mores and manners of a society on the cusp of radical change." A Gentleman in Moscow immerses us in another elegantly drawn era with the story of Count Alexander Rostov. When, in 1922, he is deemed an unrepentant aristocrat by a Bolshevik tribunal, the count is sentenced to house arrest in the Metropol, a grand hotel across the street from the Kremlin. Rostov, an indomitable man of erudition and wit, has never worked a day in his life, and must now live in an attic room while some of the most tumultuous decades in Russian history are unfolding outside the hotel's doors. Unexpectedly, his reduced circumstances provide him a doorway into a much larger world of emotional discovery. Brimming with humor, a glittering cast of characters, and one beautifully rendered scene after another, this singular novel casts a spell as it relates the count's endeavor to gain a deeper understanding of what it means to be a man of purpose"--

Fri fragt

122 kr.
The Book Depository Logo
Into the Valley of Death

Into the Valley of Death

Into the Valley of Death is the first in A.L. Berridge's Crimean War series. 1854 - The Allied armies prepare to besiege the Russian stronghold in the CrimeaHarry Ryder is a maverick hero. Resentful of the army that destroyed his father and his own career, he has no time for incompetent commanders. He clashes with his superiors as fiercely as he fights the Russians. Four men, one woman and a game of cards will change everything and alter the course of a war.Something evil has crept into the ranks of the British Army's own officers, an unknown enemy who plans lure men to ruin on the battlefields. The only path to victory lies in uncovering the truth, but to find it and confront his own destiny Ryder must charge with the Light Brigade into the Valley of Death itself...From A.L. Berridge, Top Ten Bestselling author of Honour and the Sword, comes Into the Valley of Death; the first in a sensational new series set to the bloody backdrop of the Crimean war. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden, Into the Valley of Death is a masterpiece of exhilarating historical adventure. So begins a thrilling new series set in the midst of a brutal war that shifted the balance of power in Europe and set the stage for World War One.Praise for A.L. Berridge:'Fast-moving, exciting historical fiction...bringing the Crimea back to life... It's pitch-perfect, breakneck writing' Conn Iggulden'The novel opens at a cracking pace and accelerates... A. L. Berridge has done it again - quite simply superb.' The Historical Novel Society'Explodes into life, drama and action on every page. This truly is an outstanding book.' Parmenion BooksA.L. Berridge read English at Oxford, and taught for ten years before moving into television, where her production credits range from period drama and thrillers to long-running soaps. She has written two previous novels, Top Ten bestseller Honour and the Sword and In the Name of the King, which are both available from Penguin.
149 kr.inkl. fragt
75 kr.
Waterstones Logo

Abonner på vores nyhedsbrev

Få aktuelle tilbud og relevante tips hver uge. I nyhedsbrevet kan du læse mere om produkter, guides og tests - alt det, der er vigtigt for dig, når du skal købe noget nyt.

Ja tak, jeg vil gerne modtage nyheder og tilbud inden for PriceRunners produktsortiment samt konkurrencer og tips via e-mail.

Jeg kan til enhver tid trække mit samtykke tilbage. Læs mere i vores Privatlivspolitik.